My Family: Emmanuella Mensah

 

My name is Mensah Emmanuella. I am thirteen years old. I come from Dodowa but I stay at Gboloo Kofi.

I have one sister and three brothers. My brothers are Eric, Aikins and Emmanuel and my sister’s name is Bernice. Eric is a driver in Accra, Aikins works with volunteers at Village by Village and Bernice is a teacher.  My mother’s’ name is Janet Obu. she is a seller and a farmer.  My mother sells waakye and plants maize ,cassava, plantain and okro on her farm.  My father’s name is Benjamin Mensah.  I did not know my father because he died before I was born.

I am a member of the Tidsall Gboloo Kofi Girls club and I have learnt a lot from the club like being early and being healthy always.

Village by Village has helped my brothers and sisters to finish school.

I like drawing very much and this is a drawing of the house I want to stay in when I grow up.

I love my family very much.

1

Emmanuella (Manuella) has been known by us for 10 years.  From the village of Gboloo Kofi, her family welcomed the charity and gave the founder a home whilst he was building a well with the community.  We have watched Manuella grow into a young woman with a great sense of who she is and a very vibrant character.  

She has been part of the girl empowerment project that we have undertaken in Gboloo Kofi and has been vocal in her thoughts.  We asked her if she would draw a picture for us and tell us a little about her family.

Leave a Reply

