Selina Gakpe: My Favourite Food

The food I like best is rice and bean stew.

I like rice and bean stew because it gives me all the nutrients that my body needs. The rice contains carbohydrates, which give me energy for my daily activities. It makes me strong. The salt contains iodine and calcium. The calcium makes my bones grow.  The iodine in the salt makes my mind grow. It also helps me not to forget things that I learn.

img_0107
Rice and Bean Stew with Fried Plantain

The beans in the stew contains protein. The protein make me grow faster. The vegetables in the stew gives me vitamins, which are very necessary for our bodies.

The vitamins make my immune system very strong. Finally the oil contains fats, which help my body to grow in size. It makes me to grow fat. Rice and beans stew is very rich in nutrients and that is why I like it very much.

 

DSC_5707
Selina in her School uniform in Abenta

I am the vice president of the Abenta girls club. Being part of the club has taught me to dress well and respect people.

Selina Gakpe lives in the village of Abenta, a small village of about 450 people in the Eastern Region of Ghana.  She is from the Ewe tribe.  She is 15 years old and lives with her father, 4 brothers and 3 sisters.  She attends Abenta Methodist Primary School where we undertook a girl empowerment project.  

Leave a Reply

